Portarlington success in Ladies Amateur Open

This is the Inaugural year of the Ulster Students Championship formerly the Ulster Youths. The Ulster Students is a Championship determined by three rounds of medal play. Each competitior plays one round of 18 holes on the first two days with 40 Male and 12 Female competitiors including ties qualifying for the Final round. In the team event the best two Gross scores in each round count towards the team total.

Owen Crooks (Bushfoot) was victorious with rounds of 69, 70, 66 (205) to win by 1 shot from Colin Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire) with Meadnbh Doyle (Portarlington) winning the Female section with scores of 76, 78, 76 (230) 3 shots clear of runner up Eleanor Metcalfe (Laytown & Bettystown)
Pictured- Morris Wilson (Kirkistown Castle Captain) Owen Crooks (Bushfoot) Meadnbh Doyle (Portarlington) & Alasdair Gibson – GUI (Ulster Branch)
Maynooth University Team (a) won the Team event on the countback from Maynooth Scholars (a)


Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, people standing, sky and outdoor

Scroll to top